Read Citation Here

*in terms of infrastructure, student welfare, governance structure, academic autonomy and community engagement programmes including legal aid services.


Events @ ALSN

Catch all the details here

Saturday, August 23, 2014

Freshers Debate, 2014

Politics is not a game. It is an earnest business.
                                                                                                             - Winston Churchill  
Debate in Session

This very famous quote by the former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom was the bone of contention as the fresher’s took to the floor to express themselves in the debate organised on the 22nd of August, 2014. The topic of discussion was “Voters, and not Political parties are responsible for the Criminalisation of parties."


The event was opened by Prof. S.K. Singh, Dean Faculty of Law, Amity Law School, Noida with very positive words which helped in boosting the confidence of the young padawan's of the college. 

Prof. S.K. Singh encouranging words

This was followed by the opening speech delivered by Mr. Manan Popli, Convener & Ms. Aiman Kulsoom Rizvi, Deputy Convener of the debating society. 

           The Office Bearers                                      

The esteem panel of judges comprised of some very illustrious faculty from the law school: Dr. Vivek Mohan Dubey, Dr. Shruti Kant Pandey, Dr. Vijender Singh and Ms. Debdatta Das who very efficiently judged the debate in a very ‘Democratic’ and impartial manner.

The learned panel

Winners of the 2013 batch Shwetank Sharma, Shivangi Singh & Adeet Dobhal were back to give their assistance with their policing and time keeping skills to make sure the event was well organised.

The Chair

In the preliminary round of selection held on the 12th and 13th of August, a total of 62 students turned up for the trials, the largest number since 2011. 18 great minds made it to the final rounds. 9 for the motion and 9 against the motion. Nervousness showed very clearly as each participant came forward to share his views but then managed to put up a brilliant show. This was the original intention behind the event, of removing the stage fear of the participants and helping them express their views effectively and convincingly. Even though all performed commendably there could only have been three winners. 


The Winner of the event was Mr. Mizan Siddiqui

The 1st runner up was Mr. Abhayjeet Singh Kala.

The 2nd runner up was Mr. Kritin Sharma

Every participant performed with an exceptional sense of debating. In the end all the winners & participants were commended for their performance by the judges.

 The final enlightening words by the judges 

Dr. Niru Sharan, our guide and mentor, without whom this event would have been a distant reality gave the Vote of thanks to all the judges, winners, participants, student volunteers & the audience for their patience & cooperation to make the event a success.
Dr. Niru Sharan delivering the Vote of thanks
Dedicated Faculties 
The Spectators 
The Conveners

Lastly we would like to thank Ronil Goger, Convener of IT Society & Karan Shah Deo, 3rd Semester B.A LL.B for the event coverage & photography.

Group Photo Time

No comments:

Post a Comment